38 Senators Stuck to Their Guns, Voted ‘Nay’ on Hurricane Irene Disaster Aid

U.S Senate Roll Call Votes 112th Congress- 1st Session

  1. Alexander (R-TN), Nay 
  2. Ayotte (R-NH), Nay 
  3. Barrasso (R-WY), Nay 
  4. Boozman (R-AR), Nay 
  5. Burr (R-NC), Nay 
  6. Chambliss (R-GA), Nay 
  7. Coats (R-IN), Nay 
  8. Coburn (R-OK), Nay 
  9. Cochran (R-MS), Nay 
  10. Corker (R-TN), Nay 
  11. Cornyn (R-TX), Nay 
  12. Crapo (R-ID), Nay 
  13. DeMint (R-SC), Nay 
  14. Enzi (R-WY), Nay 
  15. Graham (R-SC), Nay 
  16. Grassley (R-IA), Nay
  17. Hatch (R-UT), Nay 
  18. Hutchison (R-TX), Nay 
  19. Inhofe (R-OK), Nay 
  20. Isakson (R-GA), Nay 
  21. Johanns (R-NE), Nay 
  22. Johnson (R-WI), Nay 
  23. Kirk (R-IL), Nay 
  24. Kyl (R-AZ), Nay 
  25. Lee (R-UT), Nay 
  26. Lugar (R-IN), Nay 
  27. McCain (R-AZ), Nay 
  28. McConnell (R-KY), Nay 
  29. Moran (R-KS), Nay 
  30. Murkowski (R-AK), Nay 
  31. Paul (R-KY), Nay 
  32. Portman (R-OH), Nay 
  33. Risch (R-ID), Nay 
  34. Roberts (R-KS), Nay 
  35. Sessions (R-AL), Nay 
  36. Shelby (R-AL), Nay 
  37. Thune (R-SD), Nay 
  38. Wicker (R-MS), Nay 

In case you didn’t notice, there is not a single Democratic senator on this list. Every single Democrat, and many Republicans, voted in favor of providing disaster relief to those affected by Hurricane Irene. My only question to these 38 Senators is, “What happened to the Republican party being the “pro-life” party?”

For more information on these Senators, including contact information, head over to the U.S. Senate’s Contact Information Page.

Edit: The referenced vote was a vote on Cloture, to end a Republican filibuster intended to prevent Democrats from introducing any sort of disaster relief legislation. The reason that H.J.Res. 66 is involved at all is because the bill was being used as a legislative vehicle to push FEMA aid through Congress, rather than drafting original legislation that would have to complete the entire legislative process. Essentially it was either tack the aid onto the Burmese Freedom and Democracy Act of 2003’s renewal, or wait days/weeks/months for a new bill to be written, submitted, and approved.